Hello. My name is Bonnie. My old YARN name was “Scratch”… My sister “Sniff” and I are were adopted back in 2017…. Due to a change in my family’s situation, I will need to find a new home.

I am now a sweet 8-month-old German Shepherd cross (maybe a cross with Blue Heeler). I’m house trained, kenneled trained, and have had my puppy basics training with Top Dog Training Academy — I was even given a certificate! Even with this training I need a human companion who can dedicate time to continue this training — I get really excited when I first meet people and will need a companion with lots of patience when it comes to teaching me not to jump.

On walks on a leash I tend to pull a bit at the start (I’m just too excited!) but have been trained to stay very close to my companion. I’m working on my recall off leash and I love going back to my companion when they call my name because I know I’ll get a treat. However, sometimes I get too excited when I see another dog and don’t always come when my name is first called. When I get enough exercise in a day, like a nice long walk with some ball throwing, an easy hike (since I’m still a puppy I can’t yet do difficult hikes but definitely will be up for hikes and runs when I’m a year old), or an hour at the dog park, I’m much happier and listen better to my companion.

I love sitting and looking outside our window, and sometimes get a bit protective when I see another dog walking near our home. My companion has been working on teaching me that I don’t need to bark or growl when I see dogs outside our home.

I currently live with a small dog, and love her to pieces. We could play all day long. I have been many times to the Main Street doggy park and get along with all other human companions and dogs. I have been around small children and cats, but I have never had the pleasure of sharing my home with them. I am an energetic, strong, large size dog, so it might be best if my new home had older children. I’m really good with other dogs and super friendly with people.

All of my shots are up to date, but my Vet (at Alpine) said I should wait until I’m 1 year old to get spayed. My favourite possessions that come with me include my large kennel, my favourite food, toys, leash and collar.

If you’d like to meet me, please contact YARN so they can set up a time and day for us to meet. All potential adopters are required to submit an adoption application and be approved.

Comments are closed.
Menu Title